The University of Iowa

IMPORTANT: The Optical Science and Technology Center and Microfabrication Facility are being retired after fall 2018 and their services reconfigured under the new Iowa Center for Research, Exploration, and Advanced Technology in Engineering and Sciences (Iowa-CREATES) and Materials Analysis, Testing, and Fabrication (MATFab) in the Iowa Advanced Technology Laboratories (IATL) in spring 2019. As a result, the OSTC/UIMF site will eventually be taken down. Until then, please visit the Iowa-CREATES Website at, or read more about the new center at


Optical Science and
Technology Center

CANCELLED: OSTC/Chemistry Frontier Colloquium "Molecular Plasmonics: Nanoscale Sensing and Spectroscopy"

104 Iowa Advanced Technology Center (IATL)


Rescheduled date TBD

"Molecular Plasmonics: Nanoscale Sensing and Spectroscopy"
Thursday, October 15, 2015
12:30 p.m.
104 Iowa Advanced Technology Laboratories (IATL)

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires an accommodation in order to attend this program, please contact the Optical Science & Technology Center in advance at 353-0974 or email

Richard P. Van Duyne
Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry Professor of Biomedical Engineering, and Professor in the Applied Physics
Northwestern University
2145 Sheridan Rd., Evanston, IL. 60208-3113 USA
tel: 847-491-3516; email:


            Professor Van Duyne discovered surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (SERS), invented nanosphere lithography (NSL), and developed ultrasensitive nanosensors based on localized surface plasmon resonance (LSPR) spectroscopy. His research interests include all forms of surface-enhanced spectroscopy, plasmonics, nanoscale biosensors, atomic layer deposition (ALD), atomic force microscopy (AFM), scanning tunneling microscopy (STM), ultra-high vacuum (UHV) STM, UHV-tip-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (UHV-TERS), and surface-enhanced femtosecond stimulated Raman spectroscopy (SE-FSRS).

            He has been recognized for his accomplishments with the E. Bright Wilson Award in Spectroscopy, American Chemical Society (2014), Charles Mann Award in Applied Raman Spectroscopy, Society of Applied Spectroscopy (2014), Sir George Stokes Award, Royal Society of Chemistry (2013), Honorary Member, Society of Applied Spectroscopy (2013), Thomson Reuters list of top 100 chemists over the period 2000-2010 as ranked by the impact of their published research (2011), Charles N. Reilley Award, Society for Electroanalytical Chemistry (2011), Election to the US National Academy of Sciences (2010), Analytical Chemistry Award, American Chemical Society, (2010), Bomem-Michelson Award, Coblentz Society (2010), Ellis R. Lippincott Award, Optical Society of America (2008), L’Oreal Art and Science of Color Prize (2006), Nobel Laureate Signature Award for Graduate Education, American Chemical Society (2005), Election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2004), The Earle K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy, American Physical Society (2004), Excellence in Surface Science Award of the Surfaces in Biomaterials Foundation (1996), Pittsburgh Spectroscopy Award (1991), National Fresenius Award, American Chemical Society (1981), and the Coblentz Memorial Prize in Molecular Spectroscopy (1980). He is also a fellow of the Society of Applied Spectroscopy (2013), Royal Society of Chemistry (2013), American Physical Society (1985), and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (1983). Van Duyne received his B.S. degree from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (1967) and a PhD. degree in analytical chemistry from the University of North Carolina (1971).

download flyer here